Read Exposure by Olivia Sudjic Online

Exposure

An essay on the anxiety epidemic, autofiction and internet feminism.After the release of Sympathy, her debut novel which explores surveillance and identity in the internet age, Olivia Sudjic found herself under the microscope. Trapped in an anxious spiral of self-doubt, she became alienated from herself and her work. Blaming her own mental health masked a wider problem that still persists: the tendency for writing by women, whether fiction or personal testimony, to be invalidated on the grounds of sex. Drawing on Sudjic's experience of anxiety as well as the work of Elena Ferrante, Maggie Nelson, Jenny Offill, Rachel Cusk and others Exposure examines the damaging assumptions that attend female artists, indeed any woman who risks Exposure,, as well as the strategies by which one might escape them....

Title : Exposure
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781999922337
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 128 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Exposure Reviews

  • Elizabeth

    A critical examination of anxiety, writing, what it means to construct a self online and how female subjectivity (in writing) is created, dismissed and grappled with, using a core of writers such as Elena Ferrante, Rachel Cusk and Chris Kraus. Fans of Maggie Nelson and Olivia Laing should apply.

    Intricately written with many insights and jumping off points for further thought.

  • Molly

    This book is excellent. Sudjic is able to describe in such underlinable skill, the plagues of anxiety and imposter syndrome while trying to write on a writing residency. She uses this as a starting point to explore the internet’s role in loneliness, authorship and female subjectivity as well as the auto fiction genre thoughtfully and articulately exposing the discrimination female writers face who borrow from their lived experience and use first person narrative in writing. Olivia you are one of ...more