Read The Rosewater Insurrection by Tade Thompson Online

The Rosewater Insurrection

The Rosewater Insurrection continues the award-winning, cutting edge Wormwood trilogy, set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction's most engaging new voices. All is quiet in the city of Rosewater as it expands on the back of the gargantuan alien Wormwood. Those who know the truth of the invasion keep the secret.The government agent Aminat, the lover of the retired sensitive Kaaro, is at the forefront of the cold, silent conflict. She must capture a woman who is the key to the survival of the human race. But Aminat is stymied by the machinations of the Mayor of Rosewater and the emergence of an old enemy of Wormwood... Tade Thompson's innovative, genre-bending, Afrofuturist series, the Wormwood Trilogy, is perfect for fans of Jeff Vandermeer, N. K. Jemisin, William Gibson, and Ann Leckie. The Wormwood TrilogyRosewaterThe Rosewater Insurrection...

Title : The Rosewater Insurrection
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780316449083
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 416 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Rosewater Insurrection Reviews

  • Michael

    This is a level up from the first novel, which was already very good. Thompson's characters are compelling. His villains are complex and draw you to their side. The insurrection itself, while being significant to humans, is only a minor part of the story here, which is truly a choice made by humans of throwing the dice or being thrown.

    A full review is coming, but in the meantime, do yourself a favor and get this story.

  • Rob Wolf

    (Disclosure: I interviewed Tade Thompson on New Books in Science Fiction and received a free review copy. Listen here: https://robwolf.net/2019/03/21/alien-...)

    Tade Thompson’s The Rosewater Insurrection takes us deep into the heart of an alien invasion.

    The book is the second in Thompson’s Wormwood trilogy. The first, Rosewater, earned the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel, Africa’s first-ever prize for speculative fiction. Both books are great reads, which bodes will for the final book, slate
    ...more

  • Tyler

    The Rosewater Insurrection is the sequel to Rosewater by Tade Thompson. With the alien dome (around which the town of Rosewater rose) well established, the story in this second book focuses on the detailed lives of some of the inhabitants (aliens included), as political and social turmoil increases.

    The chapters alternate between a number of characters, including Aminat (a researcher trying to find a way to stop the gradual taking over of human bodies by alien xenoforms), and Anthony, an alien ap
    ...more

  • Kristi

    Full review available on my blog.

    My goodness there is a lot going on here. And like any good second book in a trilogy, there are questions that still need answering, and it is clear that some of the characters still have surprises waiting for us. Everyone is keeping something from everyone else, even those closest to them. Information is almost as good as money (almost), and allegiances are bought and sold using bribery and blackmail. In other words, war is messy. And war with a superior alien s
    ...more

  • Holly (The Grimdragon)

    "Mangled corpses, body parts everywhere, blood mixing with the mud to form pink froth, structures flattened for fifty yards in every direction, debris mixed with organic matter. The ring is obliterated, the fighters gone. No crater, no fires. Compression bombs don't leave any. They are essentially portal keys that open a bridge to a vacuum that sucks matter in, then closes rapidly, reversing the flow, spraying matter outwards. The victims' bones are their own shrapnel."

    Rosewater, the first book
    ...more

  • Paul

    The city of Rosewater has become a focal point, not just for Nigeria, but for the entire planet. A vast city-sized entity, known as Wormwood, is slowly changing the world we inhabit. Those that live in the shadow of the being are evolving in strange and sometimes frightening ways. Diseases as being cured but bodies are becoming something far more than human in the process. As far as the masses are concerned the intentions of this alien visitor remain shrouded in mystery. Some view Wormwood’s exi ...more

  • Lee Gingras

    I feel bad giving this only two stars. I LOVED the first book, which was one of the best books I read in 2019, but unfortunately, it feels like this sequel drags under its own weight. The first book set forward all the pieces, which delivered feat after feat of imagination. This book focuses more on putting the pieces into battle, which I just can’t find as compelling. The plotting seems sloppier too; the parallel storylines just barely held together in the first one, and in the second they just ...more

  • Michael Howley

    I'm setting this at 4 stars largely because of how much I loved the first book, but how I feel about it long term will depend a lot on the conclusion to the trilogy. That's not a super great feeling, and I will try to articulate why without giving too much away.

    Unlike "Rosewater", which largely followed a single POV character through a couple intersecting timelines, "Insurrection" follows a fistful of POVs through a largely linear sequence. This was a nice change of pace, as Kaaro did not need t
    ...more