Read Josephine Baker's Last Dance by Sherry Jones Online

Josephine Baker's Last Dance

From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Bakeractress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable worldin Josephine Bakers Last Dance. In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page. With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public...

Title : Josephine Baker's Last Dance
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781501102448
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 372 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Josephine Baker's Last Dance Reviews

  • Stan

    Those who are familiar with the writing of Sherry Jones, know that she relishes bringing to light the exploits of “kick ass” women that have been largely ignored by history. In doing so she shows us that women have always been an important part of the growth of Western Culture – they have just never had a voice. Sherry’s voice is loud and convincing.

    The women in Jones’ earlier works like “The Jewel of Medina” and “Four Sisters, All Queens” her characters were born or married into positions of in
    ...more

  • KOMET

    Josephine Baker is someone I had known about since my elementary school days more than 40 years ago, when I first saw her profile in a calendar celebrating what was then Black History Month. I was fascinated to learn that she had gone to Paris in 1925 and made herself into a superstar in France and across the world.

    "JOSEPHINE BAKER'S LAST DANCE" was given to me last month as a Christmas gift. The essence of the novel has as a centerpiece, what was Josephine Baker's last great stage performance
    ...more

  • Tammy

    Josephine Baker's Last Dance was an entertaining and captivating read! Josephine Baker withstood so many obstacles in her life and those obstacles shaped her. Racism, segregation, poverty and sexual abuse. The author brought Josephine to life, showing us the real woman behind the public persona. I thoroughly enjoyed this one!

  • Joy

    Before reading this, I knew very little about Josephine Baker other than the fact that she was an African American Parisian dancer who worked against the Nazis in WW2. This book is the reason I love biographical historical fiction more than straight biography. Not only is Baker brought to life, but her surroundings, her family, her (many) men, her amazing talent, and her place in history are so vivid and memorable that I feel truly enriched. An excellent read.

  • Kimberly Mussell

    This was a great combination of story telling and non-fiction. This is marked as historical fiction, but from page one you can feel the heart of the author and all the research that was completed. When I am reading about a particular person, I always find myself looking them up and other names associated. Spot on for the descriptions within this novel.

    What an extraordinary life Ms. Baker had and she was a phenomenal woman. I learned so much about her by just reading this novel.

    Thank you NetGalle
    ...more

  • Norrine

  • Stephen

    This will be one of my favorite books of the year.

    It is a touching, engrossing and enlightening tale based on the life of legendary chanteuse and dancer Josephine Baker.

    It is told in lush prose with such expressive power you feel as if you're floating through the story absorbing all the rich detail. The sense of time and place is so fine it's as if you are there.

    From her childhood of poverty and servitude in St. Louis, Missouri to her start at the Booker T. Washington Theater, her triumph of Par
    ...more

  • D.B. Moone

    Authors Name: Sherry Jones

    Publisher: Simon & Schuster Galley Books

    Genre: Fiction: African American Women, Historical, Biographical

    Page Count: 384

    ISBN: ISBN 9781501102448

    Publication Date: December 2018, Release Date: December 4, 2018

    Simon & Schuster Author Page

    Simone & Schuster Josephine Bakers Last Dance Page

    Find Sherry Jones on the following social media sites:

    Sherry Jones Website

    Facebook

    Twitter

    YouTube

    Save

    Goodreads

    Pre-Order Now From Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-A-Million, Indi
    ...more