Read Josephine Baker's Last Dance by Sherry Jones Online

Josephine Baker's Last Dance

From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Bakeractress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable worldin Josephine Bakers Last Dance. In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page. With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public...

Title : Josephine Baker's Last Dance
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781501102448
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 372 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Josephine Baker's Last Dance Reviews

  • Diane S ☔

    Thoughts soon.

  • Jamckean

    I had never heard of Josephine Baker before reading this book, but I now understand that she was truly a force to be reckon with. The author takes readers on an incredible journey, following Josephine’s life from poverty to stardom, from working as a housekeeper in Missouri to performing as a showgirl in Paris. Not satisfied with just the limelight, Baker also became heavily involved in the WWII French Resistance and the Civil Rights movement. A fascinating story about a remarkable woman that I ...more

  • Marisa

    Even though I love Old Hollywood, I'm embarrassed to say that I actually didn't know much about Josephine Baker before I read this book! I knew only a tiny handful of things, the main ones being that she was French and danced naked on stage. After reading this novel, though, I'm happy to have learned more about her. Not only that, but now I'm looking forward to looking more into her life and her work.

    Biographical novels are tricky because they either skip over a lot of "insignificant" time perio
    ...more

  • Kyra Leseberg (Roots & Reads)

    I must say I didn't know very much about Josephine Baker.  It wasn't until I read the short children's picture book biography in the Little People, Big Dreams series to my daughter that I learned she wasn't just an entertainer but a woman who fought for Civil Rights equality and joined the French Resistance to destroy Hitler during World War II.

    The short children's biography was so brief and yet I was fascinated!  When I found Josephine Baker's Last Dance on NetGalley earlier this year, I absolu
    ...more

  • Julie

    Josephine Baker's Last Dance by Sherry Jones is a 2018 Gallery Books publication.

    I have walked into the palaces of kings and queens and into the houses of presidents. And much more. But I could not walk into a hotel in America and get a cup of coffee, and that made me mad. And when I get mad, you know that I open my big mouth. And then look out, 'cause when Josephine opens her mouth, they hear it all over the world ...

    What a life!

    I didn't know much about Josephine Baker. I remember watching a
    ...more

  • Shyiesha

    Excellent!!! A deeper look into the life of Josephine Baker. Her life was truly remarkable and this book does not disappoint in retelling her story.

  • Sherry

    While creating this book, I fell utterly in love with Josephine Baker, as did everyone who ever knew her. Langston Hughes. Bessie Smith. Hemingway. Colette. The King of Sweden. The Pasha of Marrakesh. The Prince of England. Louis Armstrong. Grace Kelly. Mick Jagger. The list goes on and on, and the reasons why become clear when you read JOSEPHINE BAKER'S LAST DANCE.

    When I finished it--after four years' research and writing--I wanted to do it all again, just to remain in Ms. Baker's bedazzling c
    ...more

  • Diana

    I think my only complaint would be that a large portion of the first half consists of Josephine "shaking/wiggling her ass;" like to a point where one who might not know her story would begin to think that's all she was capable of. (I looked up some videos and yes, that is basically what she did, but I feel like it could have been better described maybe.).It got to a point where I became a little bored because that's all she seemed to be doing every few pages.

    Other than that it was a really well
    ...more