Read The Unteachables by Gordon Korman Online

The Unteachables

A hilarious new middle grade novel from beloved and bestselling author Gordon Korman about what happens when the worst class of kids in school is paired with the worst teacherperfect for fans of Ms. Bixbys Last Day.The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and academic train wrecks. Like Aldo, with anger management issues; Parker, who cant read; Kiana, who doesnt even belong in the classor any class; and Elaine (rhymes with pain). The Unteachables have been removed from the student body and isolated in room 117.Their teacher is Mr. Zachary Kermit, the most burned-out teacher in all of Greenwich. He was once a rising star, but his career was shattered by a cheating scandal that still haunts him. After years of phoning it in, he is finally one year away from early retirement. But the superintendent has his own plans to torpedo that ideaand it involves assigning Mr. Kermit to the Unteachables.The Unteachables never thought theyd find a teacher who had a worse attitud...

Title : The Unteachables
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062563910
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 288 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Unteachables Reviews

  • Sarah

    It seems as though fictional educators are either cruel taskmasters or incredible human beings who turn children's lives around. The eighth grade class of unteachables boasts a teacher who begins as a mere time card puncher yet becomes a SUPERSTAR! before novel's end. It's the sort of transformation teen movies are made of. You know the ones where an already good looking outcast simply sheds his or her glasses and dresses up a bit and, what do ya' know he or she was beautiful the whole time! Mr. ...more

  • Erika

    On the plus side, I enjoyed the varied cast of Unteachables (both students and adults), each with their own challenges and issues. Plus, it was great to see Korman championing, as he does so often and so well, the idea of people pulling together and supporting one another, while learning to forgive past transgressions. But for all that I can't say this new title worked as well for me his 2017 novel Restart.

    While I think it's great for kids to realize adults are far from perfect and often have a
    ...more

  • Tlwinky

    This story is the middle school equivalent to the Island of Misfit Toys. Mr. Kermit and his class of misfits are lovable and endearing and hilarious. Each character has a unique reason for being in the "Unteachables" classroom, which makes the book hard to put down. Gordon Korman will always be a favorite of mine because of his characters and his humor and his positive messages throughout each tale he tells.

  • Judith

    Omg, I loved this adorable little story. As an educator, I could relate to the teacher and recognized the kids as having been my own students at one time or another.

    Being an educator is difficult, especially with all the media bashing of teachers, difficult contract negotiations, and all of the social media and tech devices we have to compete with for our students attention. On top of all of that, educators also have to deal with the baggage students bring into the classroom that definitely affe
    ...more

  • Blodeuedd Finland

    Oh I did not realise this was MG before reading the synopsis. I thought it was YA since they were 13. But hey it works for everyone!

    This is THE class. The one everyone avoids and where the school puts the kids they do not know wht to do with, and forgets them.

    Mr Kermit just wants to retire. The school really messed him up. A scandal destroyed his life and the school blamed him. And he had nothing do do with it. So now he hates teaching. Ok yes 27 years of not caring is hard to forgive, but I rea
    ...more

  • P.M.

    I have always liked Gordon Korman's books and this is no exception. Mr. Kermit is one year away from retirement and a satisfactory pension. However the superintendent harbors a lot of anger for Mr. Kermit because of a cheating scandal 27 years in the past that was not the teacher's fault. Because the student who cheated w as in Mr. Kermit's class, it is obvious to the superintendent that payback in the form of firing Mr. Kermit before he qualifies for early retirement is a perfect option. Enter ...more

  • Sharon

    4th&up

    Teacher Zachary Kermit is just counting out the days until he can retire, but the superintendent (an old nemesis) is not going to make his last year easy. In an effort to make him quit and lose his pension, Mr. Kermit is assigned to teach the Unteachables- a self-contained class containing a handful of students that no one else wants or can deal with.

    What starts out as a battle between teacher and students turns into something else, something more. This bunch of misfits just might hav
    ...more

  • Theresa Grissom

    Thanks to Edelweiss plus for an ARC of this book.

    Another hit from Gordon Korman! I simply adored this middle grade story. Loved the characters and couldn't put this down. The students at my school will love getting their hands on this one. Can't wait to share it with them.