Read The Unteachables by Gordon Korman Online

The Unteachables

A hilarious new middle grade novel from beloved and bestselling author Gordon Korman about what happens when the worst class of kids in school is paired with the worst teacherperfect for fans of Ms. Bixbys Last Day.The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and academic train wrecks. Like Aldo, with anger management issues; Parker, who cant read; Kiana, who doesnt even belong in the classor any class; and Elaine (rhymes with pain). The Unteachables have been removed from the student body and isolated in room 117.Their teacher is Mr. Zachary Kermit, the most burned-out teacher in all of Greenwich. He was once a rising star, but his career was shattered by a cheating scandal that still haunts him. After years of phoning it in, he is finally one year away from early retirement. But the superintendent has his own plans to torpedo that ideaand it involves assigning Mr. Kermit to the Unteachables.The Unteachables never thought theyd find a teacher who had a worse attitud...

Title : The Unteachables
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062563910
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 288 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Unteachables Reviews

  • JoScho

    Middle grade book about a burnt out teacher and a class of misfits. Some of the characters were more developed and more like able than others. As a teacher, there were some very relatable moments. Overall this was a cute little story about redemption and finding the people you need at the right time. 3.5 stars ⭐ ...more

  • Tasya Dita

    I received an e-ARC of this book through Edelweiss Plus in exchange for an honest review

    When I first requested this book, I was hoping for a funny yet touching read. This book fulfills both.

    In Greenwich Middle School, there's a class of 6 kids called The Unteachables- basically, your class of delinquent. This is where Kiana, a newcomer, stumbled into and got herself placed, and where Mr. Kermit, a veteran teacher with a scandal that still haunted him, got placed. Everyone in the school had alrea
    ...more

  • Blodeuedd Finland

    Oh I did not realise this was MG before reading the synopsis. I thought it was YA since they were 13. But hey it works for everyone!

    This is THE class. The one everyone avoids and where the school puts the kids they do not know wht to do with, and forgets them.

    Mr Kermit just wants to retire. The school really messed him up. A scandal destroyed his life and the school blamed him. And he had nothing do do with it. So now he hates teaching. Ok yes 27 years of not caring is hard to forgive, but I rea
    ...more

  • Jill

    Zachary Kermit has been teaching for a long time. He’s in his last year before he can take early retirement, and he’s just cruising with his giant coffee mug until June, when he can finally hang it all up and live a life of leisure. But the school’s superintendent has different plans for Mr. Kermit. He’s still mad at the cheating scandal that embarrassed him all those years ago, as it was Mr. Kermit’s student who masterminded the whole thing. So now, he’s trying to get Mr. Kermit to quit before ...more

  • Erin

    Okay, so I have a lot of thoughts about this one. I'll start by saying that I enjoyed the story--another classic Korman tale of misfit school kids coming together to overcome the odds and achieve something great (in this case, the rehabilitation and reinstatement of their teacher). I liked that this book had a little bit of play with the value of trade classes and the interaction between academics and electives.

    But, I really struggle with the premise, which is that these seven kids are in a sel
    ...more

  • Jaymie

    [I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.]

    Fantastic! I loved the characters and the heart of this story. I was inspired by this story of the transformation that can happen when students have teachers and other adults who believe in them. Mr. Kermit, the teacher, changes the most over the story. The core of his character is to be a voice and an advocate for students and that makes a difference for this group of kids especially.

  • Rustin Verret

    Another amazing Gordon Korman book! I was rushing to finish this because Gordon Korman is going to our school TOMORROW. I'm so exited. This book is about a group of kids who have anger issues, can't read or constantly fall asleep in class. One year, they get stuck with the one teacher who ignores them.

    Still reading: HEARTLESS by Marissa Meyer and DUMPLIN' by Julie Murphy

  • Jessica

    Reader, I cried.

    But I also laughed.

    This book isn't just for kids, who will find it funny but (I hope) also look at it with compassion and understanding. It's also for teachers, teachers who leaped from college bursting with energy and eager to mold young minds only to butt up against a teacher's worst enemy. No, not the students, no matter how difficult.

    The administration.

    The "public."

    The Unteachables isn't just about kids who have been written off for various reasons (you know, like anger i
    ...more